The Monk and the Minister

Posted: June 2, 2011 in business, Life, Money

OK, let’s get this blog off and running.  Here’s one of my favorite parables to get us started:

Two close boyhood friends grow up and go their separate ways.  One becomes a humble monk, the other a rich and powerful minister to the king.

Years later they meet.  As they catch up, the minister (in his fine robes) takes pity on the thin, shabby monk.  Seeking to help, he says:

“You know, if you could learn to cater to the king you wouldn’t have to live on rice and beans.”

To which the monk replies:

“If you could learn to live on rice and beans you wouldn’t have to cater to the king.”

Most all of us fall somewhere between the two.  As for me, it is better to be closer to the monk.  https://jlcollinsnh.wordpress.com/about/

Care to comment?  Just click on the circle on the top right of the post.

Comments
  1. […] I copy/pasted this from Jim Collins: […]

  2. Moin Agate says:

    Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from
    an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking
    about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

    • jlcollinsnh says:

      Hey MA….

      So, this blog looks established? Ha! :)

      Boy howdy, am I the wrong person to ask about this! I’m still stumbling about in the dark.

      I launched it just over a year ago and randomly choose WordPress after somebody mentioned it. From what I gather since, it is one of the better hosting sites, so I’d recommend it if you have no other preferences.

      I’m also not very technical, but the set up process was pretty easy. As they say, if I can do it anyone can.

      I’ve paid no attention to building an audience or monitizing it, but I probably should. So like you, I’m in need of help!

      Good luck and post a comment with a link to your blog when you get it up and running.

      JC

  3. […] 5)   The greater the percent of your income you save and invest, the sooner you’ll have F-You money.    The obvious reason this works is that the more you save the more you’ll have.  The less obvious reason is the less you learn to live on the less you’ll need to be financially independent.  See point #9 and https://jlcollinsnh.wordpress.com/2011/06/02/the-monk-and-the-minister/ […]

  4. […] The Monk and the Minister […]

    • Trish Rempen says:

      Ah, the justification – right there in print.
      Knew I was always more a monk than a minister….!
      Thanks for reminding me!

  5. Tom Kemper says:

    Marine Corps officer, Ad Agency VP, test driver … now a farmer. Glad to be more monk than minister. SemperFi, Tom

Leave a Reply

